Learning Management System User Guide Click Here. Please email mghcme@mgh.harvard.edu with questions.
Project Teach Logo

David Kaye, MD

Executive Director, Project TEACH and Professor of Psychiatry, University at Buffalo, Jacobs School of Medicine

  • About
  • Posts
  • Events
  • Videos

About David Kaye, MD

David L. Kaye, M.D. is a child/adolescent psychiatrist and Professor of Psychiatry at the University at Buffalo (UB) Jacobs School of Medicine and Biomedical Sciences. Dr. Kaye received his medical degree from the University of Vermont in 1977 and subsequently completed his residency training in general and child/adolescent psychiatry at the University of Wisconsin. He has been on the faculty at the University at Buffalo since 1982, established the residency training program in child/adolescent psychiatry in 1991, and remained the Director of Training until 2014. Since 2010 he has been the Medical Director for the child psychiatry access program Project TEACH and in 2022 became Executive Director. The program received the APA Psychiatric Services Bronze Medal in 2016-17 and the Rieger Service Program Award for Excellence from AACAP. He has served in many positions of leadership regionally, nationally, in the medical school, hospitals, and department of psychiatry at UB. Dr. Kaye has published papers and chapters on a variety of topics, including education, collaboration with primary care, and psychodynamic psychotherapy in children and adolescents. He is the first author on a book for primary care providers entitled Child and Adolescent Mental Health (Lippincott Williams and Wilkins 2002). He has presented frequently at national meetings and has been a leader in national organizations, including the American Academy of Child and Adolescent Psychiatry (AACAP) and the American Association of Directors of Psychiatric Residency Training (AADPRT), serving as President in 2009-10. He has received two of AACAP’s highest awards as recipient of the Catchers in the Rye award in 2016 and the Simon Wile MD Leadership in Consultation Award in 2021. He is a Distinguished Fellow of both the American Psychiatric Association and the American Academy of Child and Adolescent Psychiatry.